A is for… Attraversiamo

Let's cross over

Let’s cross over

As I sit down to write for the first day of  A-Z challenge which I have taken, the day has almost retired and a new day is at the verge to kick start giving a new ray of hope. I have taken up this challenge to explore the hidden creativity which lies deep inside me.

The word chosen for the first day of challenge is “Attraversiamo”. I fell in love with it when I first heard it. Eat Pray Love is a novel by Elizabeth Gilbert and it is beautifully adapted into a movie by the same name. The lead role has been played brilliantly by Julia Roberts. It is a story of a woman where she gives herself an year to heal her soul. She travels and explores the world around her. This movie is close to me as I myself was going through an emotional wave in my life. My soul needed some healing miracle, and I happened to watch this movie.

The first part of the movie was spent in Italy. Roberts spends time in Italy learning Italian language as she thinks it is a beautiful language. She instantly falls in love with a word – attraversiamo when she first listens to it. She liked the sound of it. And I fell in love for it’s symbolism. It means let’s cross over. People say it to each other when they are walking down the street. It’s like the person walking with you knows you so well that if you are walking down the street and want to cross over a bridge, without you saying anything, the person walking by your side would say, Attraversiamo! Let’s cross over. The moment of Euphoria in your life. The moment of togetherness. Isn’t that beautiful?

I loved the word and its meaning, and contemplated it in my own way to let my soul heal with the power of this word. I was stuck in a situation where my mind and my heart were not in sink. Mind knew that it was all over, but heart was still hung with the last string of attachment. No scissor could cut it, no words could break it. The aftermath of this heart and mind strife was that I was broken, devastated. Attraversiamo had a miraculous effect in healing my broken soul. It worked like a ray of light in a dark room.

Let’s cross over – I commanded my heart. And within days I was able to end, the heart and mind strife. Life was at peace now. And attraversiamo was added to the bucket list of favorite words.

With this I end my first day challenge of A-Z, preparing myself to come up with a new word starting from “B”.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Arlee Bird
    Apr 02, 2015 @ 01:51:12

    Never heard that word or saw the film, but I like the concept of the meaning. Hope you enjoy the Challenge and cross over into many posts of creativity.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Reply

  2. Jessica
    Apr 02, 2015 @ 12:16:31

    These are great images and beautiful thoughts, said in such a soft and thought-provoking way. I’m looking forward to more beautiful vocabulary lessons from you this month.

    Jessica
    2015 A to Z Blogger
    Visions of Other Worlds

    Reply

Leave a Reply

