K is for Kaur!

So, alphabet for today is ‘K’. My word for K is Kaur. Well! my blog name says “The Traveller Kaur, and my name is GurPreet Kaur. No! Kaur is not a surname, it is a middle name. Let me take you back into the time to tell you the importance of it. It’s a very long story but I’ll try to cut it short.

KBack in 17th century, India was being ruled by Mughals. There were lot of caste issues (which are apparent even today) along with gender discrimination. The females were considered weak and of inferior race.Β  On 13th April, 1699, the tenth Guru of Sikhs, Guru Gobind Singh Ji, commanded all Sikhs to be baptized (to eradicate cast ism). The collective body of all baptized Sikhs was coined as “Khalsa”, which means “free” or “pure”. All the Sikh males were commanded to adopt “Singh” with their forenames as surnames. And all Sikh females were commanded to use “Kaur” as their surnames. This custom confirmed the equality of both the genders. Unfortunately, with time Singh and Kaur has been adopted as middle names and surnames are back with the forenames, bringing back the caste ism. Not getting into the details of the above said issue. I would rather concentrate my post on my word.

Kaur means “pure” or “princess”. It was intended to give women a sense of self-respect. It provides Sikh women with a status equal to men. Sikh principles believe that all men and women are completely equal. Therefore, a woman is a princess and can lead her own life as an individual, equal to men. She does not need a man’s title to raise her own status. Saying this would go against the principles stated in the Sri Guru Granth Sahib, the religious text of Sikhism.

Now you know why the name “The Traveller Kaur” was chosen. πŸ™‚

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kern Windwraith
    Apr 14, 2015 @ 01:39:30

    What a fascinating read! I’ve heard of Kaur and Singh, but I wasn’t aware of the history behind these names. or their significance to caste. I was also unaware of Sikh principles pertaining to male/female quality. There probably aren’t too many religions in the world that can make that claim.

    Thanks so much for sharing this–I’ll be back for more.

    Reply

  2. I.L. Wolf
    Apr 15, 2015 @ 07:26:43

    That was really interesting, I had no idea! I’m learning a ton through the A to Z challenge πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

